Tacking NEDA Week

I have taken it upon myself to organize NEDA Week this year on my campus. Yes, our student organization has been planning it for a couple of years now, but I want this year’s to be the best my school has ever had

On Monday, I will be “tabling” outside the dining hall, promoting upcoming events during lunch.
In the evening, there will be a “Just Dance” party where students can come play the video game.
(I cannot attend, I have class, so other members of the student org will be in charge of this one.)

On Tuesday, also during lunch, we will have a table set up where students can make their own buttons in support of Eating Disorder recovery or positive body image.

On Wednesday evening, some graduate students in our counseling program will lead a “fireside chat” about the effects of media on body image.

Thursday during lunch, I will be giving a presentation titled “Eating Disorders 101”. (Students are encouraged to bring their food with them to eat and watch.) None of the graduate students will be attending this one, nor will anyone in my student org, that I’m aware of. (This is really nerve-racking for me…) Though one grad student will be helping behind the scenes to help ensure the veracity of the information. I’m hoping one of the counseling center staff members or an intern of there’s- will be able to come help, but I haven’t heard back from anyone.

One of the main objectives of “EDS: 101” is to address misconceptions students (and possibly staff) have about eating disorders and those affected by them. The other is to increase awareness and encourage students to seek help for themselves or others. One thing I’m hoping students will take away from this information session is that dramatic weight loss doesn’t occur in all patients with eating disorders.

And I am planning to speak for 10-15 minutes on my own experience recovering from an ED. This is why I’m really hoping to have a few close friends in the audience.

Thursday night, we will be showing the documentary, “America the Beautiful” and graduate students will lead a discussion afterward.

For all the events, but especially Eating Disorders: 101, I’m praying for good attendance.

We are able to put on all these events at no cost. Our $50 budget is going towards raffle prizes. Every student that attends each event will have their name put in a drawing to win a “Love Your Body” gift basket. Hopefully this incentive will get more bodies in the room. Posters will be hung around the school. But I’m hoping to tie bright-colored ribbons on the doors to all these events! flashing neon lights? A marquee?! Play loud music? Whatever it takes to get people to poke their heads in to see what’s going on.

This entry was posted in Processing Recovery and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tacking NEDA Week

  1. I love that you’re helping get the word out, and especially that you want to help dispel myths surrounding eating disorders.
    I do think it’s funny that many of these events are happening at lunch.

Leave a Reply

