MTV’s Guide to Pro Ana

Actually dragged my butt to the fitness center this morning. I dropped my aerobics class. But I want some kind of physical activity in my life.

MTV was on the tv in front of the only free elliptical. And I have to admit I was intrigued to see “True Life: I’m on a Diet” was starting.

10 minutes in, and this is one of the most triggering things I’ve ever seen outside the direct, Pro-ED community. (Try, five times more triggering than these first 89 pages of “Wasted” by Marya Hornbacher.)

Already, we’ve seen a pageant girl pinched and prodded and shamed by her mother. And she’s close to the weight I was at my very thinnest, at the peak of restrictive EDNOS. And trust me, I was far from fat.

A former bulimic college wrestler, now subsisting on next to nothing, claims he is “losing weight the right way” now.

And this is how mainstream media teaches youth about proper diet and nutrition?  There better be an aesop at the end.

diet_281<

This entry was posted in In the News and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to MTV’s Guide to Pro Ana

  1. The Real Cie says:

    They should change the name of MTV to STV, the S standing for “shit.” Ain’t no M in MTV any more.
    What a horrible, horrible program. You’re right, way to encourage ED’s. Ugh!
    Come check out a new blog that I’m involved with if you like.
    http://fitfatmermaids.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

