Quote of the Day

“People who have been Been to Hell and Back develop a certain sort of self-righteousness. There is a tendency to say: I have an addictive personality, I am terribly sensitive, I’m touched with fire, I have scars. There is a self-perpetuating belief that one simply cannot help it, and this is very dangerous. It becomes an identity in and of itself. It becomes its own religion, and you wait for salvation, and you wait, and wait, and wait, and do not save yourself. If you saved yourself, and did not wait for salvation, you’d be self-sufficient. How dull.”

-Marya Hornbacher in, “Wasted: A Memoir of Anorexia and Bulimia”

This entry was posted in Quotes of the Day. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quote of the Day

  1. The Real Cie says:

    Reblogged this on The Cheese Whines and commented:
    I fear I can be guilty of this.

  2. What a quote. It gives insight into how others, often condemned by the many, feel and what they have to go through each day of their lives. It makes me want to slap myself when I feel mildly depressed as i frankly am being self-obsessed whereas those poor souls are for real. Blimey.

Leave a Reply

