Quote of the Day

“When I was a little girl, people used to ask me, What do you want to be when you grow up. Good, I would say. I want to be good…If you asked me now what this means, to be good, I still don’t know exactly…

In recent years, good girls join the Army. They climb the corporate ladder. They go to the gym. They accessorize. They wear pointy, painful shoes. They wear lipstick if they’re lesbians, they were lipstick if they’re not. They don’t eat too much. They don’t eat at all. They stay perfect. They stay thin. I could never be good. This feeling of badness lives in every part of my being. It occupies me everywhere.”

– Eve Ensler, in “The Good Body.”

This entry was posted in Queer, Quotes of the Day and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

